Home

Recently at school we have starting playing around with Google docs and google apps. As a school we have registered with Google and now have over a thousand accounts ready for pupils to go live probably in September 2013. In the meantime it is up to a handful of us to ‘play around’ and see what we can do!
20120725-214941.jpg

The account set up makes life incredible easy, from my school account, using the same password Google automatically signs me in and will set me up a Youtube account if I want to. I use Google drive on my IPad as well and the synchronisation is great.
Google docs have been brilliant, collaboratively sharing and editing the same document has made life so much easier, rather than receiving numerous copies of the same document and then collating the result myself!

20120725-215118.jpg
But my main reason for this blog is to talk about the Google Site I have recently set up for Key Stage 3 Physical Education at school. My main reason for setting up this Site was to reduce the amount of paperwork I have to mark. As a department we have decided to teach the Key Stage 4 curriculum via homework during Key Stage 3. So, I have embedded the homework as google docs in the Google site and after each rotation I will collect the answers, export to excel, filter by teacher and then send each teacher their groups responses. For some of the answers I have used Fluburoo to mark them before I send them to the teachers to cut down on the workload.
I am also using the site to help embed literacy within the curriculum, word of the week, reading lists etc and to celebrate success.

20120725-215244.jpg

It has been incredible easy to set up and I know that the pupils will get on board with it, I just hope the staff do as well!!

One thought on “Google sites in education

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much
    about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit,
    but other than that, this is fantastic blog. An excellent read.
    I will certainly be back.

Leave a Reply

